Awards for Dietitians and Dietetic Technician 

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics sponsors several awards for outstanding dietetics professionals. Each year, VAND asks the dietetics community to nominate VAND members in various phases of their career whose work deserves recognition. 

Nominate a co-worker, friend, colleague, or even yourself.  Award winners must be curent members of VAND. Nomination Form

Qualifications for each award are listed here. 


  • Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year Award (RYDY)              
  • Recognized Dietetic Technician of the Year Award (RDTY)          
  • Emerging Dietetic Leader Award                        
  • Vermont's Outstanding Dietitian of the Year Award       

The Karen Newman Award 

This award was created in 2021 to honor VAND's Past President, Karen Newman, MS, RDN. Karen was a dietitian, an internationally competative triathlete, and a remarkable human being who opened her heart to everyone lucky enough to cross paths with her.  Karen died of breast cancer in November, 2020.

To honor her memory, the Karen Newman Award recognizes a dietetics professional, a member of the community, or an organization that has had a significant impact on the nutritional well-being of Vermonters.  Nominees should be considered a mentor or inspiration, have overcome adversity or helped someone else do so, and have worked on behalf of underserved or disadvantaged Vermonters. 

You do not need to be a VAND member or a dietitian to nominate an individual or organization for the Karen Newman Award. Nomination Form 

The Elizabeth "Betsy" Hiser Scholarship 

This scholarship was created to honor the memory of VAND member Betsy Hiser.  It is intended to help a registered dietitian or dietetic technician who is a current member of VAND, pursue continuing education in order to enhance their professional standing and knowledge of nutrition, nutrition education, or food science. The conference or program may be located in Vermont or out-of-state. One scholarship of up to $1,000 will be awarded annually.   The scholarship application is located here